Love Actually

Posted on

Holiday season is apparently right around the corner, walk into any mall, or watch any television commercial and it will confirm that statement.  I love the holidays, mainly because it is one time when majority of people are prone to do good things, help strangers, and be better people.  The beginning quote in the movie Love Actually (2003) says it all pretty well.

“Whenever I get gloomy with the state of the world, I think about the arrivals gate at Heathrow Airport. General opinion’s starting to make out that we live in a world of hatred and greed, but I don’t see that. It seems to me that love is everywhere. Often, it’s not particularly dignified or newsworthy, but it’s always there – fathers and sons, mothers and daughters, husbands and wives, boyfriends, girlfriends, old friends. When the planes hit the Twin Towers, as far as I know, none of the phone calls from the people on board were messages of hate or revenge – they were all messages of love. If you look for it, I’ve got a sneaky feeling you’ll find that love actually is all around.”

Although love is amplified during the holiday seasons (and I am not complaining about that) I think it is important to realize that love is around all of the time, you just have to take a second and appreciate it.  So this holiday season when you are spreading the love and doing good deeds, I ask that you think about what you will do when the holiday season?  I suggest that you carry that feeling of love and happiness with you, and keep spreading it.  Be willing to lend a helping hand throughout the whole year, not just during the holiday season.

Leave a comment